• 53rd National Honor Society Induction

    Posted: Apr 18, 2017

    New Members Inducted into National Honor Society 
    By Jacob Hammitt

    Wapsie Valley High School held its 53rd National Honor Society induction ceremony in the auditorium on Thursday, March 30th. Sixteen returning members conducted the official ceremony under the direction of their adviser, Mr. Brett Bergman. Abby Buzynski and Anna Sauerbrei handed out programs before Holly Haberman opened the ceremony and welcomed all in attendance. Natalie Risse and Taylan Sauerbrei explained the pillar of Scholarship and why it’s important to continue to pursue knowledge. Alec Marticoff and Lakin Joerger read speeches on Service and why how individuals can impact their community in a positive way. Sammy Rohlfsen and Jacob Hammitt followed with their speeches on Leadership and how it’s more than about benefiting one person, but about exerting an influence in the school and community to help others. Dayten Wittenburg and Meghan Kleitsch then discussed Character and how the opportunities people take help to build the character already inside them. After the NHS motto was recited, Delaney Mohlis and Abby McClain read off the names of the inductees while Hanna Risse, Andrew Buzynksi, and Ben Schmitz handed out certificates. Principal Mr. Ross Bauer delivered congratulatory comments to the new members and David Doese took pictures. The ceremony ended with a reception in the Commons with dessert and drinks.

    Becoming a member of the National Honor Society is no easy task. Juniors and Seniors with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or above are eligible to apply, and those that choose to apply must fill out an application that provides evidence of the four NHS pillars in their lives: Scholarship, Service, Leadership, and Character. Essays and letters of recommendation are involved in order to allow the most deserving students to rise to the top. Teachers review the applications and score them on each of the four pillars. New members this year are: Seniors, Jaden Kuethe and Malena Silva; Juniors, Britney Hershey, Ashley Gonzales, Erika Jeanes, Jacob Joerger, Maria Kayser, Madison Landsgard, Carson Kerns, Jacob Kuhlmann, Brandi Marticoff, Cameron O’Donnell, Donald Schmit, Colin Schrader, Aubrey Stacey, and Benjamin Weepie.

    Current members of the National Honor Society have kept very busy this past year. In addition to hosting a school wide Backpack program for families in need at Christmas, members have served a meal at the “Balling for the Brave” basketball games read to elementary classrooms during Literacy Week, and helped with Kids in the Park during the annual Grump Days celebration. In addition, NHS members work the FFA to host the annual Sweetheart Dance around Valentine’s Day. Plans are also being made for future activities. This group has really appreciated the opportunity to help local communities and as always, are looking forward to leaving an even larger impact in the future!